RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Newbie General (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/)
-   -   New Rubicon Saturday. Ruined it Sunday (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/487122-new-rubicon-saturday-ruined-sunday.html)

Timmomo 03-12-2014 09:32 PM

New Rubicon Saturday. Ruined it Sunday

:shock:
Greets. First post ever today. Glad I have you to count on for feedback--and plan on giving back as my account here matures.

Here's my deal: Found out how to do massive wheelies with my new Rubicon (SCX-10). Mostly because I tried to fiddle with the ESC knowing nothing about how to set it--I managed to make it go super fast backwards, eliminated my drag brake and was left with lackluster forward speed--but I digress.

I'm a dork, I know I thrashed something--it's going to cost me. But since I'm new to this powertrain system, I could really uses some advice from crawler "old-timers". Poppin' wheelies has resulted in regular forward action, but when gently nudge up against an obstacle and attempt to traverse it--the model shrieks from the transfer case area and largely does not move forward. And of course, as you might expect, it sounds like a 4-wheel coffee grinder everywhere it goes--louder in corners.

Based on what I've described, what do you suppose I've done? I think I'll need to eliminate all the nylon / plastic'ish parts in my drive train so here are my questions:

1) It's an RTR, I'm a little skeered to take it apart I haven't set up a workbench (no room) yet, and as a noob, the fewer things I take a part the more likely they're to get back together. I'm looking for a consensus as to WHERE the problem MOST LIKELY is. Could it be in the pumpkins or just in the transfer case? _Just_ a pinion/spur gear, or deep in the transmission?