Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie Build: CC-01 Land Cruiser 40

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2016, 05:06 AM   #1

Default Newbie Build: CC-01 Land Cruiser 40

Hello Everyone,

Newbie here who recently built a CC-01; Land Cruiser 40. I was a Tamiya fan back in the day, with my first and only RC build being a Hornet in the late 80's. I now find myself interested in scale RC and wanted to build a rig for trail use. Obviously, there are other manufacturer / chassis kits out there that are more capable, but I wanted to build a Tamiya more for nostalgia.

The Land Cruiser 40 was a lot of fun to build and I'm sure will be a blast out on the trail! Here are a few pics (still need to trim down the front body posts):

Stock kit w/ the following upgrades: RC4WD 55T Motor, Full Bearing Set, Junfac Skid Plate, Locked Front / Rear Diffs, eBay sourced wheels & tires.

Let me know what you guys think of my build. I'm really looking forward to reading all of the interesting threads on this site and learning about the hobby!

Thanks, Eric

Last edited by Scooter80; 05-01-2016 at 05:31 AM. Reason: More Detail
Scooter80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-2016, 07:03 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Newbie Build: CC-01 Land Cruiser 40

Welcome and well done. Sounds like we followed similar paths, only a couple of years apart. My first and only RC as a kid was also a Hornet, but in the mid 80s, and I got back into the hobby a couple of years ago with another Tamiya (TT-01 with 3-Series body) before getting hooked on scale off-road trucks. Check out some of OSRC's CC01 builds in that section here and also his CC01 thread on UltimateRC. He's done some incredible stuff with this platform.

Keep up the great work and feel free to ask away if you have questions.
new2rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 09:11 AM   #3