Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to RC...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2017, 02:19 AM   #1

Question New to RC...

As the title states I'm new to the RC world, However, i've been offroading and working on trucks for years.
I've been looking at the AXIAL SCX10 platform since it seems to have a good basis for modifications and aftermarket bits.

I have a few questions for those who have been around the block.

Where do you all buy parts online? I live in Japan (for now) so I don't think the local hobby shop will stock many of the American brands.
What parts are good to stock up on? i.e. what breaks the most?
How durable are the bodies? Can they handle a long fall or do they crack?

Thanks for the responses, I tried to read through other newbie posts so I didn't fill this one with all my questions.
ogreCyques is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-06-2017, 04:34 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: New to RC...

the scx10 is a pretty tough truck with a few upgrades. I like to beef up the tranny first and get rid of the plastic links, and a good servo never hurts. then I just upgrade as it breaks. as for parts look into RPP Hobbies or TCS crawlers. I have the original body on mine and its about 5 yrs old and has been thru hell and hasn't broke yet.

Last edited by crawlhog; 01-06-2017 at 04:37 PM.
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 04:45 PM   #3
I joined the Band!

As said yoi can make your own links with allthread and cover with brake tubing. Search site for homemade links.. [im on my cell or i would for ya]
RootBreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 04:01 AM   #4

Thanks for the replies all,
I'm excited to get into it.