Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Traxxas Stampede electronics / wheels to a SCX10 II builders kit

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2019, 08:48 AM   #1

Default Traxxas Stampede electronics / wheels to a SCX10 II builders kit

OK, bear with me here!

My background is mostly with Traxxas RTRs, I've had several E-Maxx's and Stampedes.

I currently have a Traxxas Stampede that needs a number mechanical bits, bent shock etc... totaled up the parts needed and it's little over $100. It's a little depressing to dump that much back into a plastic buggy-based kit. It does have decent electronics in it tho...

So I figured why not build up a better chassis for a few bucks more, swap over everything I need from the Stampede, and then upgrade the transplanted gear later.

My thought is, build up one of the new SCX10 II chassis kits, and swap over all the basic gear from the Stampede. radio, 12T Titan motor, water resistant XL-5 ESC & servo, and I know this will make people here cringe, but for now, wondering if the hex drive low profile wheels would fit.

OK, now that I've horrified everyone here, is this doable as a cheap start into the crawler arena? I realize I need to change out shocks and get some beadlock wheels/tires fairly quickly, but I could be up and running with a bash/trail truck that's a HECK of a lot better than the Stampede I'd otherwise have.

Thanks guys and be kind please!!!

-Josh Murrah

Last edited by JoshMurrah; 01-07-2019 at 08:49 AM. Reason: grammar
JoshMurrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-2019, 08:51 AM   #2

Default Re: Traxxas Stampede electronics / wheels to a SCX10 II builders kit

You should be fine, and don’t feel like you have to live up to the ideals of others.

You’ll end up with a fun, capable truck.
Raketemensch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 12:27 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Welcome to the forums.