Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie wanting to build scale Land Rover..PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2007, 10:06 PM   #1

Default Newbie wanting to build scale Land Rover..PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hey Guys,
Im VERY new to this hobby. My love of my Rovers and Youtube have brought me here.

I want to build a Land Rover Defender/Range Rover Classic off road rig....BY NO MEANS a monster truck....just something VERY VERY scale.

I saw some bodies from Kamtec and i think in gonna get the defender swb body from them:
http://www.kamtec.co.uk/products.php...90&prod_cat=10
but im not sure what chassis is best to stick it on. Ive seen that everyone loves the xc but its too hard to find.

I want to build something VERY VERY VERY much like the following:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=uoLB4sZ-4A4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Eo2BLZAaVmI

As a beginner, i would like to find a chassis thats already running and just mess with the new body (painting and detailing) for now untill i get comfortable with the parts....then i can upgrade suspension/parts/tires.

Im assuming (from what ive seen for the Land Rovers) that im gonna want a 1/10 scale chassis? Ive seen elsewhere that the TL-01 is good, but there are many different types and im not sure where to start (buggies/road racers).
Do i buy a buggy/roadster tl01 and just upgrade the suspension? Again im very new to this and dont know what to do. (thank God for this newbie forum!)

Could someone briefly explain to me how chassis and body pairings work

Does anyone have any advice as to what chassis i should look for that are easily available (ie: NOT the xc,cc01,etc.)
and
If anyone knows of a good chassis i can buy from you/somebody you know (one that would fit the description of what i want to do)

Thanks for your time,
Ryan S

Last edited by Grizzly4x4; 06-04-2007 at 12:46 PM.
hollerlwb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links