Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Motor / esc questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 12:41 AM   #1
I joined the Band!

Default Motor / esc questions

Ok, Im a noob to the crawler scene as well as electric so I need to ask. I know these are total noob questions, I ran a search but didnt find anything. Also checked on google but still need some explaining..

Turns on a motor.. The higher the turn, the slower the truck but the longer the run times? The lower the turn, the faster it is, with shorter run times? Is this correct? If so, just how slow is a 80 turn? And how long are the run times on lets say a typical 7 cell setup? What is a good middle range turn number to go with? I want as long as run times as possible but dont want something thats a snail slow either.. Any suggestions? (Im not into competition. Just a backyard crawler)

Also about esc's.. Will basically any esc work? Most the time the racers need a esc that handles there low turned motors, but since were using a high turn, will anything pretty much work then? Also a person has to have a esc specifically designed for brushless motors if ya wanna run a brushless correct?

Again, Im sorry about the noob-ieness of the questions, just something I really wanted to verify before I spend the money. And this is the best place I could think of to get the best answers..
Knoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-2007, 12:49 AM   #2
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC