RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Newbie General (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/)
-   -   newbie here have questions on what to get (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/newbie-general/95813-newbie-here-have-questions-what-get.html)

hdcherokee 12-12-2007 08:39 AM

newbie here have questions on what to get

I am going to be getting ax-10 for christmas and i am new to the rc world. Here is a list of things i am going to get just want to run it buy the fourm and see if these parts are worth buying or should i pick something else. also if they are compatable with each other. Also what else would i need like any small connectors are anything. I would like to run rear steer also. I want to keep it cheap but i am willing to spend money. I dont want to but stuff that is going to breake right away?

esc = novak goat Can i use this esc with a brushed or brushless motor. I dont Know witch one to buy yet. I have read a couple of post and i am leaning toward the brushed motor. I would like to be able to try both.

motor = novak 55t crawler brushed motor or the brushless one [not sure]

servo = hi tec 5645mg

battery = 8 cell 2/3a elite 1500 mah or Should i go with a 6 cell or 7 cell
Is an 8 cell going to give me more run time and more problems? I was going to put them on the axle. Could i run 8 cell on the rear axle and 8 cell on the front or would that be pointless and to heavely? Should i go with a lipo battery instead?

charger = super brain 960 or electrifly jr. Is there a better on i should get?

radio = traxxas tq3 or clod mod reciver utq3 Witch would be better for rear steer?

binaryterror 12-12-2007 09:41 AM

The Goat or the Rooster will not handle an 8 cell pack. 7 cell max as per the Novak page.

8 cells only give you more wheel speed not longer run times. Run times come from the mAh rating. I run a 6 cell on the front axle, great weight and plenty of run time.