Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Non Crawler RC's

Notices

Thread: RC18 Late Model and Club Racing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 01:30 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default RC18 Late Model and Club Racing

I love oval racing but there are no local clubs so I started my own. I am a teacher and thought that RC would be a great way to help encourage kids to do good in school, teach them math and science, and show them how to have some good clean fun. More on that later in the post.

First, lets check out the car we will be racing, the Associated RC18LM. Why did I choose that you ask, because Associated donated one to the cause. That inspired my principal and I to buy 4 more and get this thing started. Here is the one I will be racing.

I went with a Danica Patrick scheme because it would be bright and easy to see. My principal is a Gordon fan so I painted him up an old school rainbow warrior car.

Right now I run all the stock parts except for sometimes running a Gens Ace 1550mah 2s lipo. I have a spacer under the left front and right rear inner camber link to lower the roll center and put more weight on those tires. The rear shocks are layed down and the front are stood up. 2 big clips in the right front spring, 1 big clip in the left front, 1 big clip in the left rear, and 1 medium and 1 small clip in the left rear. It drives pretty good but is eating the right front tire. I expected the left rear to wear the fastest.

Any set up advice for ovals would be appreciated.

For more details on the chassis and specs check out RC18 Late Model Ready-To-Run: Team Associated - Champions By Design - Nitro and Electric RC Cars