Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Non Crawler RC's

Notices

Thread: Traxxas XMaxx

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2020, 09:59 AM   #1
smp

Default Traxxas XMaxx

Hello folks,

I am a newbie here, as well as to all of RC Rock Crawling. I'm an old retired guy who built up a few Tamiya kits with the kids 30 years ago, but that is the entire extent of my experience. I discovered RC Rock Crawling and this place back last summer while looking for something new while hunkered down. I ended up purchasing an Axial Capra, and had some fun learning about crawling on the rocks at the edge of a tiny pond in my backyard. Now that pond has risen back up and those rocks are all covered with water and ice for the winter.

Again, back last summer, I subscribed to RC Car Action magazine. It seemed like a good idea at the time. The time lag until my first issue came was quite long, so I had forgotten all about it by the time my December issue came. There was a lengthy review of the Traxxas XMaxx - and I fell in love.

I held off, trying not to spend all that money for as long as I could, hoping that the desire might pass, but this week I succumbed and made my purchase. I am now awaiting its arrival.

I have read a lot of reviews and seen a lot of videos online. They generally seem to be positive, but I've also seen some very vocal reviews from folks who seem to have had just about everything one can imagine fail on this rig, and some of them have had repeat failures, too.

So, here I am as a newbie asking for any advice you folks may have to offer for what I should expect with my new beast.

I should add that I am not really a "wild and crazy guy" with my stuff. I've been learning about crawling with my Capra, and I haven't broken anything on it, if that is any example.