Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Need advice for picking the right Blue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2015, 11:48 AM   #1

Question Need advice for picking the right Blue

Hey,
I'm new to the crawling scene, but I'm already looking to get a spare body for my rig. I want to get a Jeep body, and i really want to paint it Blue. Not flat blue, but something deeper... Picture the darkest blue in a cloudless sky, now make it deep. Dodge and Ford painted Rams and Mustangs a similar color back at the turn of the century.
I don't have much experience painting, but I'm familiar with the idea that I'll need to paint the body from the inside, with the layer closest to the surface first. Does anyone have an idea how I go about this? My local hobby shop has Duratrax paint, but I'm stuck on what color blue I want to use. Any advice would be awesome.
Dman07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-12-2015, 02:28 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Need advice for picking the right Blue

i THINK, i know the color you are talking about.

This is a body done with duratrax blue flash and backed with black

its a little dark for what you want, but backing with white might get what you are after.
Hope that helps
onebullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 06:17 AM   #3

Thumbs up Re: Need advice for picking the right Blue

That looks awesome!
Yes, that's pretty close, and backing it with white would probably do the trick. The Ford color I referenced of called Sonic Blue, and is a pearl coat, but that's definitely the right color. Nice detail there man!
Does anyone have any experience doing a pearl or candy coat with a color backer before the base color coat? Did it turn out much darker than you expected?
Old 11-12-2015, 06:33 AM   #4
Rock Crawler

if you want to get into messing with candy coats i would do some spray outs and experiment if you cant find somebody that had done it already.