Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Inexpensive airbrush system

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2020, 11:48 AM   #1

Default Inexpensive airbrush system

Hey Fellas,

I’ve been thinking about a inexpensive airbrush system from harbor freight: https://www.harborfreight.com/1-5-hp...kit-95630.html

Has anyone used this? Any other full systems that are better quality without a huge jump in price?
trxrdr17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-25-2020, 03:13 PM   #2

Default Re: Inexpensive airbrush system

I'm not a painting expert and definitely not a pro with airbrushes. I've never used an airbrush for more than practice. When I first started looking into airbrushes I was considering the HF airbrush and those compressors. After tons of research I decided to get the HF airbrush and a good air compressor. I was lucky to find the Husky 4610A on clearance. It's a rebranded California Air model that has aluminum tanks and it's whisper quiet. I couldn't pass it up for $99.

Anyway, you'll find mixed reviews on the HF stuff and those tiny air compressors.

This guy has an awesome airbrush review site with tons of models including the HF brush: https://sites.google.com/site/donsairbrushtips/

Here are some links to feedback on the HF compressors:

Central Pneumatic 1/8 HP, 40 PSI Oilless Airbrush Compressor - FineScale Modeler - Essential magazine for scale model builders, model kit reviews, how-to scale modeling, and scale modeling products
Harbor Freight Air Compressor - Model Railroader Magazine - Model Railroading, Model Trains, Reviews, Track Plans, and Forums
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 04:44 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

I got the standard cheap gravity feed airbrush and a 2HP compressor, it's much noisier than the small ones but that doesn't cause any problem here as I only paint in the day.