Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Weather Lexan?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2020, 07:25 PM   #1

Default Weather Lexan?

I see all these beautiful weathered bodies and I'd like to do something similar with a clear lexan body I have. I'm a bit stumped on the process. To weather the body would I need to paint on the outside? Is it possible to paint on the inside, spray the lexan with a matte finish and then weather the body on the outside?

I'm a huge noob to this hobby but having fun! Thank you for your time.
kev971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-2020, 07:40 PM   #2

Default Re: Weather Lexan?

Yes, to do good weathering of a Lexan body you will have to do it on the outside. Or you could do some things on the inside and then spray the outside of the body with Tamiya Flat Clear.

Here are three good videos for weathering Lexan bodies.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm5-UxuT4Z4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkWskoOcVH0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H245WPeIIl8
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 08:59 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

This started out as a copper and white tutone....... got rusty dents now

Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 09:29 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I think painting the outside would probably give the best results, this will give the wash something to bite into though a flat clear on the outside should work as well. I did a test trying to weather the outside of a body and the wash would just bead up and pull way making the process impossible because its so smooth.

I make my washes out of regular water based house paint, little color samples from the hardware store. You can do dirt and rust washes but one of my favorites is to do a white/gray wash as the final wash, it gives a nice dusty look.