Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: new to the crawling scene

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 08:09 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default new to the crawling scene

so i am brand new to the whole rc crawling scene. i know next to nothing and have been reading these threads heavily trying to learn. i just ordered my redcat rs10 the other day and it should be here in a few days.

i just wanted some input on what the first few mods to this crawler should be? i wont be doing competitions or anything it is strictly for fun. after reading some i have already ordered a set of hb rover whites, a bigger lipo battery, and a better charger. i think my next purchase will be new banebot 380 motors. where do i go from here performance wise?

thanks ahead of time!
rccherocon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-22-2010, 08:14 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Welcome to the addiction! The first thing I recommend is checking out the sticky here:
Official RS10 tips and tricks thread.
If you've not taken a look at it yet...give it a read. It's got several good mods in it that cost next to nothing to do and will benefit your crawler. Be careful if you got a lipo battery because the stock ESC doesn't have a lipo cutoff...a few guys have been running them without issue, but you don't wanna over-discharge your batteries. The banebots would be a good choice for motors and you made a wise move getting the rovers. As far as where you go from there...go for what fits your budget and feel free to ask us any questions you have.
jsowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:18 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

thanks for the quick reply!

would you mind schooling me on the whole battery issue?
Old 01-22-2010, 08:27 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Well, first of all...what kind of lipo did you get? 2s, 3s?