Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Shock Droop Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2010, 07:21 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Shock Droop Question

Hey guys, I have heard about "drooping" your shocks to gain some suspension performance, but what does drooping your shocks mean and how do I go about doing it???

I'll admit, I'm a newb and someone mention doing this after I wheeled for the first time this weekend.

Let me know your thoughts and info, as it will be appreciated.
md7989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-19-2010, 07:32 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

If you search for them they will come . search droop , dozens of answers . Just dont plan on it with the stock shocks
camobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 08:23 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by camobob View Post
just dont plan on it with the stock shocks
I ran the stock shocks in full droop with medium tension springs and 100wt oil for about 6 months with no leaks or issues whatsoever.

md7989, there are hundreds of topics on droop...it's something that could work for you, but ultimately I went back to sprung shocks because I didn't like the lowered belly getting hung up. Drooping the shock means to take off the external spring and install an internal spring under the shock piston that keeps the shock fully compressed and the shock extends when the crawler articulates. You can also do semi-droop which uses internal springs as well, but you have one spring below the shock piston and one spring above so the shock isn't kept fully compressed.