Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Scale Accessories

Notices

Thread: Best winch cable

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
Jus
I wanna be Dave

Default Best winch cable

I just converted a Hitec 645MG for winch duty on my well loved (and abused) SCX-10.

I am going to use it regularly it seems like it's going to make scaling even more fun. I have a lot of experience with 1:1 winches from all the times I've gotten my ATV stuck.. Gotta love that 3000lb Warn winch.. Wish they made winches for R/C that'd be awesome.

Just to test things out I currently have some 12lb fishing line on the spool it pulls hard but sudden jolts snap it easily.. I managed to pull my dining room table across the floor after anchoring the winch to the other side of the room and combining the trucks power and winch it moved it.

I was at the hardware store today and they had some 1/16 cable but way too big.. I'm figuring some sort of salt water fishing line or something but I don't know where to start.

Here is a front shot.. The servo is mounted extremely ghetto style, but it works so far! The table pull didn't stress it. Only used big wire ties, two sided tape, and a piece of lexan.

I'm going to get the RC4WD fairlead and put it right in the middle of my bumper and also getting one of thier hooks at the same time for the end of whatever cable I end up with.
Jus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-2010, 04:48 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Go to Michaels or AC Moore and pick up some tiger tail in the jewelry making section..
Ktbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:30 PM   #3
RCC Addict

they do make winches for RCs, both in 1/8 and 1/10 scale
ussprinceton2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:55 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton2004 View Post
they do make winches for RCs, both in 1/8 and 1/10 scale

DonsATV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 02:26 AM   #5

Hey