Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers

Notices

Thread: First Super

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 09:02 PM   #1

Default First Super

well after browsing the pictures and drooling over all these cool rigs i finally decided to pull the trigger and build my first super. I picked up a roller from a member of my local club

but now i realize that i may be in over my head and need a little help. For the controls i am going to go with a Futaba 4PK but nows where i need some help. Do I need to run dual speed controls or can i run one with a Punk RC dig and which setup do you think is better? When running dual esc's can you run both off of one battery? And on the steering side of things can one bec handle 2 servos or do i need to run two? sorry for all the questions but like i said i am a complete noob at all of this
FruitaCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-18-2010, 09:13 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Im going to be running a 4PK, 1 esc, Punk, 2 hi-torqueservos and 2 bec's. I was told you cant run 2 escs and have rear steer with a 4PK because the 2nd channel is always hot for the esc.
Im using 2 esc's in my berg and using channels 3 and 4 for the esc's.
Hope this helps.
Hoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:16 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

You can run a single speed control with the Punk dig or run dual speed controls. Personally, I prefer dual speed controls for the Super due to the greater potential for motor stall (which is over come by dialing in the controlers individually).

Yes, you can run both ESC's off of a single battery.

It may not be necessary, but with the demands of today's high end servos I use 2 Castle Creations BECs. Each servo having it's own BEC.
SVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:56 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper