Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers > Tamiya Clod Buster

Notices

Thread: Swivel Chassis Prototype

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2006, 12:39 PM   #1

Default Swivel Chassis Prototype

Being Clod axles have the motors mounted right to the axles I can't see any reason why people keep trying to hook the axles up like standard axles with links and shocks and what not for crawling. It seems to me you can just make the center of the chassis rotate instead. However I am new to RC truck world and usually learn the hard way.

Anyway here is my first prototype of the Swivel Chassis.

Movie (Sorry pretty bad quality): http://www.virtual4x4.com/movies/swivleproto1.AVI

Pic (Sorry for the Copyright watermark but people rip my pics on other hobbies and claim as their own):

--------------------------
This after I bashed on it for 2 hours. Only thing I managed to damage was the front steering link. Needs better links anyway.

Articulation is only limited by the wiring. Other wise it could just spin in circles. Still a work in progress however. Thinking about moving the swivel mount from the center to the front so it would be easier to mount a body of some kind although real rock crawler don't have real bodies anyway.
Jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-2006, 02:24 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Nice work. Something I haven't had time to work on similar idea but with a tuber.
Double J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 02:31 PM   #3
Picky Fab'r/Acetal Junky

Too much articulation can be a bad thing also. There's nothing keeping the axle from going all the way around like a shock would do.

It's not a new idea in 1:1 rigs. People have tried it in crawling and in the Tough Truck comps...and the "simpler is better" philosophy usually comes out on top.
Offroader5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 02:39 PM   #4

Yeah, I think a tuber body would be a good choice.