Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers > Tamiya Clod Buster

Notices

Thread: Noob with a steering issue.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2007, 10:56 AM   #1

Default Noob with a steering issue.

Like it seems every other Noob in this place, I am a noob to crawling but not a noob to RC.

I have a clod with an NN chassis, stock wheels and tires, TT MIP CVDs, RC4WD wheel wideners, RC4WD metal on-the-axle servo mounts and JR 9000 servos and I am having a steering problem. I can get the wheels to turn one way but almost not at all in the other direction. This problem is both front and rear steering.

I am not sure how much this is pertinant but I see that the servo mount is rocking a little bit, and I also see that the C hubs are also torquing a little biy when I try to turn the wheels in the direction that they do not move. I will admit that I am mostly testing this on carpet but even on pavement I am seeing this behavior. I am also seeing significant body roll when I throw the servo in the direction of tires not moving. If I lift the chassis up off of the ground and throw the servos, then the tires move like they are supposed to. The end result is I can only turn in one direction, which makes maneuvering (even in my livingroom) kinda hard.

Any ideas on what might be wrong? I have been trying to resolve this for the past couple of weeks. I have so far removed my heavy duty servo saver as that was preventing any wheel movment, and I have also gotten a longer steering link to accomodate for the widened TT axles. Any additional help in this would be greatly appreciated, I almost have a working crawler and just need this one thing fixed.

Thanks alot!!
Raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-06-2007, 12:05 PM   #2
Rock Crawler