Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers > Tamiya Clod Buster

Notices

Thread: behind the axle steering

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2007, 11:13 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default behind the axle steering

I was wondering exactly how behind the axle steering works and how it hooks up. What all parts are needed and whats the pros and cons. Right now I have my servo standing up and down infront of the Clod axle on my pimp cane, I'm planning on mounting it to the axle brace , but before I buy the mount I'd like to research this set up. any help would be awesome. I did use the search and didn't really find much.
Thanks alot,
-BIGMAXX- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-2007, 11:58 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

im very new to this and the current clod i just got used runs steering behind the axle. Im very curious to hear the pro's and con's because i was going to redo the steering to have it the more ?Traditional? way...

JOe
Kingofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 02:44 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

main reason is the steering links are behide the axle so they cant get hanged up on things also helps your approach angle search for it youll find alot of ones guys on here made there self
andrewmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 08:21 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

I am using the Thundertech Aggressor setup and have been happy with it. The only downsides are that it is another thing to buy or build. I modified mine to get rid of a little slop. Also, you have to be careful to avoid any binding problems with the suspension links and motors. There is not much space. The advantages are the improved approach angle. See pic below. There is nothing to hang up on as you approach a face. I use a skid plate to prevent getting hung up on the steering after getting over an obstacle. I get full range of steering and the setup has been dependable.