Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Superclass Crawlers > Tamiya Clod Buster

Notices

Thread: Six-Shock the K2-3S

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2007, 12:00 AM   #1

Default Six-Shock the K2-3S

Hey all,

This is my first Crawler and I'm fairly excited about it so far. In case the thread title looks familiar, well, bRIBEGuy, myself, and one other good friend have embarked on a mission to create three very different crawlers, but all using the same chassis. We will have a bit of competition when were done building.

Needless to say, I've never built one of these things before so it's been an interesting thing to learn about. I'm happy to join such a fanatic group.

So about my crawler…,well working within some very strict guidelines for our machines such as tire size, body format and wheel base, we all had free range to build the suspension, steering, etc in whatever way we wanted. I really didn't know much about the "best or most common" setup for suspension, so I just looked at the thing for an hour and came up with my Six-Shock idea. My point was to get a set ride height (with some amount of sag), yet have almost no resistance when articulating. So I decided to mount a central shock front and rear with no oil ( to keep the ride height), and four oil filled shocks on all four sides with no springs (for dampened articulation, but not bound by springs). Interestingly, what I found was that the central shock pivots in a slightly off center manner, always putting the chassis back into alignment after articulating in any way. So here are some pics and a quick vid of my first ride just showing the setup. (the vid is poor quality sorry, I only have a camera that takes small vids)

Its not done by any means and still needs some finishing touches.... and a body.... and paint.. and better tires/rims for sure!

Cheers.

http://www.rcthingsandstuff.com/medi...rock_crawling/