Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: CR01 - Ford Bronco Susp. Prob,

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2009, 08:43 PM   #1

Default CR01 - Ford Bronco Susp. Prob,

Hi guys,

Hope you guys can help a newbie here. I've done up my CR01 and the problem I faced is the 'sinking' suspension. Everything is stock. The suspension looks ok whn i lift the car from the ground, but once i plc it back down, the whole suspension get 'squeezed'. There isn't much travel whn i tried to get the suspension to tilt. Can someone pls help me cos this is meant for a bday gift for my son which is on the 16th Aug. Thanks.
juzzmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2009, 11:07 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

A picture would help see what the problem is.

Are you saying that when the CR01 is on all 4 wheels, the suspension closes (goes down)...sort of like it you are running it on a droop set-up? Oil in the shocks/dampeners? Cantilevers set-up properly?

Let's get that thing fixed in time for your boy!!
mtnhrdgr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:35 AM   #3

Seem odd to me, but could you detach one end of a damper and see if it pulls back in?

I doubt however that the stock Tamiya dampers are tight enough to be able to do that, but if you have the damper rod fully retracted when closing the dampers, they will try to return to that state whenever no force is applied.... at least in theory. Given how leaky the stock dampers are, it shouldn't last long tho. :-P
meshwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:06 AM   #4

Hi mtnhrdgr2,

Yes, it's exactly wat u described. Seems that the suspension or spring is not holding the entire body up. The droop is esp. obvious for the front. What can possibly be wrong here? I've checked thru the manual but it seems all placements of the screws are correct.
juzzmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:18 AM   #5