Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya CR-01

Notices

Thread: Total amateur in need of help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 10:25 PM   #1

Default Total amateur in need of help!

Hello there!
Im as green as they come in the subject of anything RC but am super keen to get into this. I have zero experience so apologies in advance for the stupid questions. There will be many.. I've just brought a CR-01 Unimog kit along with a Novak Rooster Crawler ESC and a Terra Claw 55T Motor Combo.

I'll get into all that hop up stuff later. For now i'd just like to get started. So what else do I need? Survo, rc gear, battery and charger?

Recommendations for kit too get would be greatly appreciated!?

Thanks mates

Last edited by totalamature; 11-17-2012 at 01:19 PM.
totalamature is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2012, 11:56 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

First of all, no such thing as a stupid question:thumbup:
Second, I don't much about the cr-01 (never had one and don't know anyone personally who has one) other than they don't do too good in off camber situations due to the tall stance (I read about this somewhere) but I'm sure with a bit of tlc and lowering the suspension setup, you can get it to crawl like the rest of them. Someone with experience with the cr-01 will chime in on this to help you out.

As far as servo, I like the hitec 645 mg bb as a good starter servo, haven't had a problem with mine since I got it over a yr ago, but I'm not trying to move boulders with my tires either.
You can check out the electronics thread for more info on servos, battery etc.:thumbup:
railripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:02 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

Oh yer gonna need some good hex/nut drivers too. Check out dynamite, hudy, they make quality tools (I love them).
There's many other companies out there too but I can't name them off the top of my head.