Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: Feasability discussion; CC01 or XC as a drift truck chassis?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2013, 10:42 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Feasability discussion; CC01 or XC as a drift truck chassis?

So I've been wanting to build a scale drift truck for a while now. I want to make it a cab-only flatbed using RC4WD's 1.9" aluminum dually wheels. I thought I had settled on using an HPI Sprint 2 for the chassis and just doing my best to build the flatbed to hide the non-scale independent rear suspension. But then I rembered Tamiya's common ifs/solid rear scale-ready chassis, and started looking at the specs. Much to my surprise, the XC/CC01 chassis measures up almost identically to the HPI Sprint 2 Drift chassis in terms of width and wheelbase - meaning it should be a stable chassis to build a drift car out of. The problem is, I have no experience with the XC/CC01 chassis. If I started with the Sprint 2, I'd be assured that it would be a solid drifting performer out of the box, but it wouldn't be as scale as I was hoping for. If I use the XC/CC01 chassis, I could leave more of the rear suspension exposed since it would be more true to scale. I'm just not sure how well it would do as a drifting chassis.

So, if anyone here owns both an XC/CC01 chassis and a set of 1.9" drifting tires, would you be willing to quickly bolt up the drift tires to the chassis and just give it a quick spin for me? I don't expect it to be competition-ready just by swapping out the tires, but it should give me a good idea of whether or not the XC/CC01 is even a viable candidate to start with. I expect I would have to do some suspension tuning with whatever chassis I choose to start with, I'm just trying to see if it would be possible at all to make the XC/CC01 a reliable drifter.