Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: CC-01 Hook up help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2013, 01:28 PM   #1

Default CC-01 Hook up help

Hey guys... so I'm relatively new to RC cars.. I bought and built 3 of them when I was 10-13, but now I'm 34. I own a 1:1 FJ and I'm super stoked for the Tamiya FJ release. Prior to this announcement, I was researching building my own FJ via a SCX-10 chassis. I know that the SCX-10 is usually considered a better chassis, but I've been told that the CC01 is pretty capable with the right ho up parts... so I guess my question is. What are the right parts?

Can you guys point me in the right direction for best bang for the buck parts?

I've seen the RC Channel stuff... looks pretty good. Is it Legit or is it all show?

I'd love to re-create my own FJ.

RichLPhotography is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-23-2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: CC-01 Hook up help

Definitely get a steering upgrade and an aluminum 4-link for the rear. Another must are ball bearings (don't know if the FJ kit will include them, but I doubt it). Don't go crazy purchasing aluminum hop ups right away.
csb510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 06:53 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by csb510 View Post
Definitely get a steering upgrade and an aluminum 4-link for the rear. Another must are ball bearings (don't know if the FJ kit will include them, but I doubt it). Don't go crazy purchasing aluminum hop ups right away.
Yes... I was looking at the aluminum suspension and axle from RC channel. I think they also have a skid, but the picture is not displaying, so I don't know what it looks like. I see that they also have front suspension stuff.
Old 11-23-2013, 08:03 PM   #4
Rock Stacker