Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: New to the crawling world and need help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 10:08 AM   #1

Question New to the crawling world and need help

I'm a noob in the crawling world, but not to rc in general. I want to start my first build with a scale crawler and was looking at the cc01 because I thought it was cool.
For now, I'm on a strict budget and the cc01 seems to be the cheapest. I was planning on buying either the landcruiser or bronco, and putting these in it. I need your approval (the crawler community) of weather or not this setup is ok to run in a stock car.

Vxl 3m brushless system from the traxxas minis, but I will only run it on a 7.2v battery.

Im asking, is the combo im using ok to use in a stock cc01 kit and what else do i need to do out of the box to make it perform better. I want to stay on as low of a budget as possible, the reason why im using that brushless is because its from my old 1/16.
laxboy411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-2014, 04:31 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Hi. If that motor is the smaller, 380 (26mm diameter) sized can I think it is, you'll have trouble fitting it to a CC01. The CC uses a standard 540 (35mm diameter) sized motor. That said, this motor would be a bit fast for a CC01. A 4000kv motor in a CC. Would be like an F1 engine in a lawn mower. You should shop for a cheap, sensorless motor of around 2000kv or less, or better yet, look for a cheap or used brushed system with a 55t or higher motor. eBay and rc4wd both have some great deals, as does the for sale section on this site. I hope that helps. Sorry it wasn't better news.
monkeyracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:29 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: New to the crawling world and need help