Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Team Losi Comp Crawler

Notices

Thread: BEC questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2009, 10:36 PM   #1

Default BEC questions

Couple questions about my Castle BEC that I hooked up tonight.

I am pretty sure that it is normal for the servos to work without the esc being switched on (Goat 2s ESC with 18.5t motor) as long as the battery is plugged in correct?

Should I hard wire the on/off switch for easier faster operation?

When I plug in the battery the dig servo makes a loud noise at first and tries to engage. But after a few seconds everything works like it should. Also the steering servo has the same type reactions upon startup. Is this normal?

Should I have the BEC set up to put out 6 volts, seeing how that is the voltage to get the max torque out of my servos?

Thanks in advance this is my first time using a BEC, and I am fairly new to crawlers and electrics.

Last edited by SGriffin; 09-16-2009 at 10:47 PM.
SGriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-2009, 10:44 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

You don't need a BEC with the Novak. I tried it and saw no difference. Just one more thing to go bad. Pull it out and just use the one on the Goat it works fine.
ynmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 12:33 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

make sure to pull the red wire out of the esc plug where it connects to the receiver
catpwred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 02:39 AM   #4
Who's your Daddy-0!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ynmech View Post
You don't need a BEC with the Novak. I tried it and saw no difference. Just one more thing to go bad. Pull it out and just use the one on the Goat it works fine.