Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Team Losi Comp Crawler

Notices

Thread: Losi MOA budget "re"build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 09:39 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Losi MOA budget "re"build

I've been running a Losi MOA for the last 8 months with mixed results. I had no intention of jumping to MOA at the time, but a set of axels with the Eritex kit and a Gate 11 Sinister Pro chassis fell in my lap, so I figured I would at least build it and start learning DIG controls. I don't have much money to put into my RC hobby, so I scraped together the cheapest parts I could to get going. I had an un-hacked GT3B, so I only had 2pos 3rd channel, which I found a way to make work thanks to HeyOK, and his DIG unit. I got 2 integy 35T motors on sale, and a CC speed control, along with a Savox SC-1256TG servo on a CC BEC at 6V. My first mistake was trying to underdrive the rear (no mixing), which caused binding, and burnt up 2 motors before I figured out the issue. Once that was figured out I started tweaking the geometry, the lower links were with the chassis and I had to figure out the uppers on my own, same with running the shocks. Given the motor orientation, I had to stash all my electronics in the tight center of the chassis, and the stock servo mount left me with a rear battery mount (and having to run a 1500mah 3s put a lot of weight back there). I was also running it narrow, at 10 1/4" width. The next issue was the front lower links, I was using stock XR10 angled plastics (they came on the chassis when I got it), I got bound up, and bent them out sideways, shrinking my wheelbase to about 9". They bent right back after I unbound it, but that was the beginning of the end of that setup. I never took a pic of it, but someone snapped this at Battle Grounds, it is the one in the foreground.