Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Team Losi Comp Crawler

Notices

Thread: My Used Night Crawler with Gremlins (Stuttering and Stalling)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2014, 10:50 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default My Used Night Crawler with Gremlins (Stuttering and Stalling)

I am very new at RC crawling. I decided to start with a couple of used rigs and learn on them. I knew they may have issues or break right away, and I’m OK with that, both because I got them for a good price and because it gives me the opportunity to learn.

I need your advice with my used (modified) Losi Night Crawler. The symptoms it exhibits in low speed crawling seem like stripped gears, yet I cannot find evidence of that. I certainly don’t mind tearing into it and replacing parts, but I’m not sure where to start. I don’t want to throw money at it needlessly. It’s quite sufficient to throw money at it with purpose!

I will tell you what it’s equipped with, then describe the symptoms, then provide link to a video I took so you can see and hear what it is. I know some of you have been in this hobby so long that you can probably diagnose it just by the sound!

My Losi Night Crawler came to me equipped with a Mamba Max Pro ESC, a Losi Xcelorin 21.5T crawler motor, with a CC BEC and a Hitec HS-5955TG servo. I don’t know if any of the gears have been upgraded.

THE SYMPTOMS: My Losi runs the best at full throttle, but even then you can hear a slight, rhythmic pulsing sound. However, at crawling speed, it hesitates and stumbles. If it gets in a semi-tight spot, it stalls out and just makes a growling sound.

I’d be honored if you’d take the time to watch this short video I posted. It starts with some actual crawling, then ends with the body off, mounted on a pedestal with some close-up shots of it running. At one point I grabbed a tire to stall it out to see if any gears were slipping. The “visible” gears were fine.