Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tires and Wheels

Notices

Thread: narrowing kongs-help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2004, 05:59 PM   #1

Default narrowing kongs-help

I think I got it down how to do this, but I have a question. How wide should they be after I am done. This is my first time doing this and the first time I am building a clod and I want to do it right. I am going to turn them inside out and put a piece of packing tape down the center and cut along the outsides of the tape. I think that will be the easiest way to do it straight. Any better ideas?
Thanks for your help....
supadupaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-18-2004, 06:34 PM   #2
TEAM MODERATOR

Default Re: narrowing kongs-help

Pick a different set of axles for your tires or pick a different set of tires for your axles. Clod axles won't like Kongs very long unless they are heavily modified. I've also heard that you won't be able to turn very sharp with them. Simply because the Clod axles are to narrow,kinda like running a set of 44" TSL's on Toyota axles. Yeah they'll role and you could run them for a little while. Right off the git go you'll notice you can't turn very sharp cuz your tires are rubbing your springs or links. After a very short time you'd start breaking birf's,axles,trunion bearings,ring and pinions and probly any other moving parts in there. Nothing at all wrong with a Toyota axle,just like theres nothing really wrong with a Clod axle. They are good axles,they do though have their limits. Thats just my honest opinion