Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tires and Wheels

Notices

Thread: dumb question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2007, 05:12 PM   #1

Default dumb question

i'm new to the rc crawler world but i did full size jeep crawling. my dumb question is do bead locks on a rc really do anything besides give it that cool look? i haven't researched them much but i thought i'd ask here amongst fellow rc crawlers first.
Tonyrcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-2007, 05:14 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

bead locks in the rc world actually lock the bead of the tire with a ring allowing tire and foam changes where glued on tires make changes more difficult.
The Muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:59 PM   #3
Rock Stacker

nothings ever a dumb question, beadlocks are like....a substitute to glueing..so u dont have glue tires...i think
jrdk92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:59 PM   #4
RCC Addict

I work in a LHS and answer this question all the time. Maximizer, Proline, RC4WD and now Axial all make "real" beadlocks, but alot of guys on here use rock rings on regular rims just for the look.
Crawln Coles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 07:12 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Muscle
bead locks in the rc world actually lock the bead of the tire with a ring allowing tire and foam changes where glued on tires make changes more difficult.
i understand how the outside bead is held on but what about the inside bead? do you glue it?
revin9k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:13 PM   #6
Rock Crawler

inside and outside beads are held on by a ring screwed to the rim. pinching the tire bead against the rim.
No glue required.
The Muscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:55 PM   #7
Rock Stacker