Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tires and Wheels

Notices

Thread: Pitbull Rock Beast VS. Growlers Vs. Mad Beast (1.9)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2016, 12:52 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Pitbull Rock Beast VS. Growlers Vs. Mad Beast (1.9)

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to RC lately although I did build a Hornet in the 80's it's about it. I was wondering what tires you guys might recommend for a honcho scx10 build with 55t motor, 2c 5000m battery. Mainly be trails, and some rock climbing. Its PA so we got about every thing you can think of with just a little driving around, and you can probably find it. I was wondering best over all runner would be. On one hand I like the clearance of the Growlers, but on the other hand RB's look like they have a nice fat stance that will grab like a spider. I got some Trepedors which are fine tires, but glued on and sort of flatten a lot when I turn on flat ground. I assume these would be great tires too as I like them when' I'm not turning.

As I side note I ordered these to mount which ones I choose seeing how my tires are glued now. Axial Wheels - 1.9'' Beadlock Satin Chrome 8 Hole (2) AX8088. I hope there are no issues mounting either sets as I have never done this.

Last edited by Flim Flam; 06-29-2016 at 10:57 PM.
Flim Flam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-29-2016, 06:21 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Pitbull Rock Beast VS. Growlers (1.9)

I would recommend a 35T motor and a 3S pack to start.

The Growlers are good tires but I always felt they were lacking in traction on loose surfaces. I would pick the Rock Beasts over the Growlers for all around use due to the increased traction on loose surfaces that will be encountered during trail excursions (dirt, sand, gravel, etc.).