Notices

Thread: Propane Brazing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 09:48 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Propane Brazing

Would a propane torch work for brazing?
I now it works for soldering.
Would I use a simular filler as soldering?

Related question, Can aluminum be brazed and is there a special procedure as with tig?
Tortuga275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-2010, 10:26 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Use mapp gas. Propane just wont cut it. Don't let Hank Hill fool ya,-PROPANE SUCKS (when it comes to brazing or grillin')

and yes Alum. can be brazed. I personally have not tried yet-but I do have some alum. rods...
R/CMaxximus5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:47 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

I hear this all the time and I beg to differ, I use propane 80% of the time when building my chassis, bumpers and what not. Bumpers I make from 1/4" solid rod and its brazed with a propane bottle. I am by no means a professional chassis builder, but I've built at least 4 chassis and all kinds of bumpers for my rigs and I've only had a few small failures mainly because of the lack of trianglated support. I will say that mapp gas is a little faster to use, but to say that propane does not work is not a real good answer.
allgm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 07:25 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

I just got a Mapp gas/Oxy tourch from home depot that works great, and it was cheaper then the straight mapp gas set up. I also talked with the guys at the welding shop, and they all said propane will work fine just takes a bit longer, but on the flip side it is 1/2 the price of mapp gas.
punkfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:08 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by punkfan View Post