Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: Machining Carbon fiber sheet tips?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 04:16 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Machining Carbon fiber sheet tips?

What is the best way to hold the material, adhesive sheets?
Any particular brand?
Rpm and feeds?
Type of cutter?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks
klabeaume is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-02-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Machining Carbon fiber sheet tips?

How thick is the material? If it's only a couply ply thick then you can get away with a dremel and a cut off wheel. And the sanding discs to clean up the edges. As far as holding the material, I just hold it in my hand to cut what i need, i suggest gloves, carbon splinters suck. If you need any help let me know. Ive been working with carbon fiber/ fiberglass for the last ten yrs

Last edited by skin6061; 08-02-2012 at 05:42 PM.
skin6061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:46 PM   #3
RCC Addict

I have a cnc mill so I am looking for a way to hold down some .062" material.
Old 08-02-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
Rock Stacker