Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: 3D printing and threads (like for a bolt :).

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2018, 02:28 PM   #1
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Default 3D printing and threads (like for a bolt :).

So i noticed in Fusion 360 there is an option to model threads in a hole. Apparently you can choose the thread size and pitch. I am totally new to 3D printing (haven't even built my printer yet!) but wondered if a printer is able to "print" this well, or if it is better off just putting an appropriately sized hole and using a traditional Die and Tap to thread it?
IPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-2018, 03:33 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: 3D printing and threads (like for a bolt :).

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPT View Post
So i noticed in Fusion 360 there is an option to model threads in a hole. Apparently you can choose the thread size and pitch. I am totally new to 3D printing (haven't even built my printer yet!) but wondered if a printer is able to "print" this well, or if it is better off just putting an appropriately sized hole and using a traditional Die and Tap to thread it?

No you can not tap the hole, because it isn't a solid object, and there just isn't enough meat.

However the threaded option in fusion works just fine. I literally just threaded 3mm x 12mm long threads into ABS and was able to torque them down as hard as in aluminum or nylon.

I have also done it in PLA which is softer but you can achieve a snug fit for most items.
Ditchrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 05:13 PM   #3
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ditchrat View Post
No you can not tap the hole, because it isn't a solid object, and there just isn't enough meat.

However the threaded option in fusion works just fine.
Thanks, good to know.