Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Noob install: Hobbywing WP1080

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2018, 02:28 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Noob install: Hobbywing WP1080

As much as I've researched... I'm admittedly still a complete novice when it comes to electronics, esc's, bec's, etc. So I'm wanting to make sure that I get this right. I've watched so many video's out there but unfortunately I still have some unanswered questions pertaining to my particular concerns and lack of experience. Apologies to mods if this should be posted in the general-newbie section.

Quick rundown of where I'm at:

I realize that ppl are changing motors, radios, etc... and I understand that there are benefits to doing things certain ways to maximize various aspects of performance. But all that I am looking for is a way to run a higher torque steering servo without burning up the Traxxas XL5 ESC. I've been back and forth on whether or not to install a BEC and just run the XL5 as is but I don't think that's going to be the best option. Instead, I'd like to go ahead and just completely replace the stock ESC.

What I'd like to do is run the HW Quicrun wp1080 and if I go this route, I'd like to make sure that I've got everything I need and that I'm doing things correctly, and that it makes sense [to me] so...

1) Although I keep hearing that the factory radio isn't the best, can I still use it in conjunction with the newly installed wp1080 ESC? And if it's highly recommended, what is an inexpensive, simple to use, simple to program radio that would benefit the performance of the TRX4?

2) Can I simply solder bullet connectors onto the yellow and blue leads or do these leads need to be soldered directly to the motor tabs? I do understand that eliminating any connectors/ resistance would be best but can I just use bullet connectors instead ( the connectors from the stock ESC) and be okay?