Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: Metal axles, portal covers or both? Servo 'Y' harness?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2018, 08:54 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Metal axles, portal covers or both? Servo 'Y' harness?

Hi guys, I am currently ordering bits for my new TRX-4 defender, I haven't got the truck yet so it's a new build and I have very little experience.

I have various parts on order such as a mod to mount the batteries on the side skids, a HH servo, HH brushless motor and mamba x ESC, proline dual compound tyre inserts, hydrax tyres and some gmade sr02 wheels.

I am now pondering whether I need to get metal portal covers or axles or a kit for both. I'm kind of at the end of the budget now but if I'm going to see a good difference in handling I would possibly invest a little more to get this right first time. I'm not interested in increasing the rotating mass, I want to use as little weight as possible to make as big a difference as possible. I'm thinking that 400g of full axles might not be completely beneficial Vs some good portal covers etc... But I could be completely wrong.

Does anyone with experience wish to chime in with advice? I'm in Scotland and getting some of these bits seems hard. Ideally I would like black parts and of a reasonable standard. I realise you can use chemicals to blacken brass parts and I have an airbrush and metal etching primers etc... If I have to paint any brightly coloured parts.

Also, to use the 2 speed servo to trigger the Aux mode on the Mamba, do I need to buy some sort of a y harness?

Thanks guys

Last edited by niro750; 09-05-2018 at 08:57 AM.
niro750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-2018, 09:22 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Metal axles, portal covers or both? Servo 'Y' harness?