Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Venom Creeper

Notices

Thread: Is The Venom Good for a Newg?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2010, 02:07 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Is The Venom Good for a Newg?

Is it? I really want an XTM. I like the intricacy of it but should I be financially realistic. I'm a former machinist and a great builder...
Knarly Nerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-2010, 02:07 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by tailrotorblade View Post
Is it? I really want an XTM. I like the intricacy of it but should I be financially realistic. I'm a former machinist and a great builder...

If you buy the kit from RPP hobby $104.99 is a great deal and needs minor mods as do all kits.
Grumpster1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 06:33 AM   #3
RCC Addict

ultimatehobbies has it on sale for $99 but I think they're out of stock right now.
brianw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:21 AM   #4
Rock Stacker

you are compairing apples to oranges there .
i keep hearing the very best crawler ever is a mao(motor on axle) type
i have the creeper ,i love it ,its great for the goofing around i do with it!
i dont compete so i dont know how it compairs to others.
i know the xtm one is a moa type crawler this means you will have to have
two motors and a speed control that can run two motors. thats about all
i know about the xtm , the venom is a fun truck ,its cheap for the most part, and with a little mods it can crawl with the best ,of its type!!
rcslsafut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 11:31 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave

Getting started on a tight budget is difficult most box kits need many updates to be considered competitive unfortunately the best upgrades are the most expensive but it all depends on how serious you want to get. The Venom would not be my first choice despite it's low cost remember you get what you pay for.