Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 2.2 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Jeep JK Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2015, 01:29 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Jeep JK Build

Hey all! So this is my first build post.. Jeep JK Scaler. I purchased this rig as a roller. Pretty nice base to start with. Currie axles, SCX10 chassis and a partially modified New Bright Body.
First step was to build some trail doors, rock sliders and bumpers. I modeled the rear bumper after a Poison Spyder tire carrier. I modeled the trail doors after the Body Armor doors and the rock slider were built to look like EVOs. These are all built from steel rod and 20GA sheet metal. The trail door netting is elastic strips from the fabric store and wrap is a ribbon like material that looks like black webbing also from the fabric store.

[/URL

From there I built the drive train with a Super Shafty bomb proof tranny, HH crawl master, Vanquish Hurtz dig, MIP drive shafts, HH BRXL, RC4WD winch and controller, Maxamps 3s Lipo. Got the cage painted and installed some Vanquish 2.2 OMF Beadlocks with RC4WD Mud Slingers. I also installed a lift for tire clearance. Proline Scale shocks. CMS kit. One off aluminum mount plate for winch controller and battery.

I then started working the body. Sanding, sanding and more sanding. A little bondo here and there. Clearanced the fenders, added a rock bar to the existing RC4WD bumper, installed head and tail lights, Vanquish Rigid LED bar, RC Modelex Roof carrier, a bunch of scale parts, cut a lexan windshield, handmade some recovery ramps out of 18GA sheet metal.