Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: Choosing A Tube Chassis

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2009, 10:34 PM   #1

Default Choosing A Tube Chassis

Hi Guys (and Gals). Brand new to the forum. Not to RCs. My background is offroad racing (AE/Losi). Building my first crawler and it's the AX-10 kit. About 4 steps into the build process I realized I'm going to want a lot of upgrades, stopped everything and ordered many new hopup parts (coming tomorrow). So while I'm waiting on parts I started looking at bodies because the body that comes with it will never see the light of day. After much research I've decided to go for a tube chassis. I've read all the pros/cons on tube vs. body and know a tube chassis is not the best choice for serious comp. This truck will be used for "bashing" primarily. I hope to join a local crawler club so I may be doing the occasional comp but just for fun meaning if I don't win because I have a tube chassis it's not a big deal.

I've been lurking in the forums for weeks now without posting and have built a little list.

- Copperhead Comp Chassis
- Proline Tuber Cage
- Warthog Comp
- Warthog Pro Comp
- TCS Eclipse
- TCS Edge
- DMG (not sure it's available for AX10)
- Fat K9

I'm sure there are more, that's just what I've found so far. My criteria since this is a basher with occasionaly (light/club level) comp is looks and since I'm a complete newbie to crawlers it has to be 100% bolt-on with very minimal fabrication needed.

So the question is (and let's assume money is no object) which would you guys feel is the best in terms of bashing with light/club level comp as well as ease of installation?