Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: daughters first crawler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2014, 08:31 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default daughters first crawler

Been planning on getting both my daughters (12 and 6) their first crawlers. I was going to get them a pair of Dingos but they both informed me they wanted crawlers like my Ax10 scorpion that I have been beating on and modifying for the last 2 years. So I think ok I will just get them a pair of Deadbolts.
Well that changed for my youngest. We happen to stroll into the LHS and sitting on the consignment shelf is a barely used , already built Scorpion kit truck with all the green metal bits shining pretty under a monster jam Grave digger body. My 6 year old sees it and proclaims loudly thats the truck I want.
I inspect the rig closesly and the card with the description. Its 4ws with rooster crawler, novak 55t, aluminum body shocks, 2 hightorq servos, 4ch radio, custom batteries, and original body but I didnt look at any of the extras that where in the box in the back.
I told her if the truck is still there I will buy it for her when tax returns come in and I start mentally modifying the truck. But more on that in a minute.
fast forawrd to today. Went to the same LHS and the ax10 was still on the shelf and I had the money for it. So we pulled it down and they got the box out. We started going through it. The custom batteries where 2 sets axle mounted 1300mah 7 cell nimh saddle pack. The 4ch radio was a fm futaba aircraft radio. Those where getting pulled ASAP. But the stock body? An unpainted uncut B-17 Betty! I probably paid too much for the rig but it was almost new my daughter wanted it and I wanted the Betty.