Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New to kit building

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 02:33 PM   #1

Default New to kit building

Hi I'm new to crawling and already have a stock rtr honcho and wraith and am having lots of fun with them but want to build a kit. How much should I expect to spend on completing the rubicon kit? What is the best esc/motor & steering servo set up to use and what is the cheapest but decent set up? Is the integy stuff any good? I would like to only spend 100-150 beyond the price of the kit is that possible?

Thanks
jeep95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-03-2013, 04:43 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: New to kit building

Since youre getting a kit you will already get upgrades you don't get on an RTR such as the aluminum lower links and the aluminum steering links.

Considering the amount you have to spend you may want to consider the same ESC your rtr rigs have.
They run abut 50.00 used and are all over ebay.

As far as a radio you can buy a used RTR 2.4 receiver/radio for around $30.00

For a motor look at the Holmes Hobbies 27t they sell for $35.00 or a throw away sealed can type motor like the RTR,s have for less than $15.00

A 16 tooth motor pinion works very well with the stock 87T spur gear and a 27T brushed motor
$6 to $8 shipped.

For a servo either the Hitec 645mg or the savox 0251..Both in the $35.00-$40.00 dollar range with the savox being the more powerful servo.

Other than that you don't really need anything else unless you want it to just have it.

This is what I recommend in you $150.00 budget range.

Last edited by 6sharky9; 11-03-2013 at 04:58 PM.
6sharky9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 05:00 PM   #3

I run tekin fx-r esc its about a hundred tho but very well worth it have run hard for over a year on 2s lipo and a 15 turn orion sv2

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk