Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: First SCX10 and have some questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 05:47 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default First SCX10 and have some questions...

I've been reading trying to figure out as much as I can in these rigs. There's lots..
I've built and modded a P4de for my daughter and a P2De for my son. Both with cc setups and lots of goodies...and they're a blast but they still look like TOYS.
But I'm a noob on the scaler end of things.

First, what motor and ESC? I will be doing mostly hill climbing in the woods and quick running around. I realize that brush less will ultimately require toughening up several drive train items.
I plan on running 2.2 Boggers and a AX2 tranny. Hoping the AX2 will allow be to do some crawling and add some torque.
Water proof is must I'd say. I need good suspension that can handle some small fly action as well.
What else should I consider?
Markeje is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-2014, 06:42 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: First SCX10 and have some questions...

I wouldn't be jumping an SCX based truck, they just are not designed for that...

I run a brushless 17.5 sensored setup in one of my rigs and it has a lot of torque as well as good wheel speed. Good all around setup.

You sound like you might be more interested in a Wraith if you are really into the 2.2's
Scionizer07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 07:14 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

No I don't want a wraith. And I'm not bashing with this rig but it certainly should be able to be build to handle some amount of 4 wheels of the ground. Not like hitting ramps but when hill climbing and such you can get some pretty good woops.
Old 02-17-2014, 09:04 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder