Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Motor / ESC issues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 09:50 PM   #1

Default Motor / ESC issues

Hey everyone,

I am new to the hobby and new to this forum. PLEASE bare with me if I do or say something stupid...

I bought a used SCX10 from a buddy. I tore it down to nuts and bolts and have been rebuilding it for months and am having some issues with my motor over heating and shutting down the ESC. Here is the list of components I'm running.

Holmes Hobbies 45t Torquemaster motor
14t pinion
RC Plane gearbox to a NP205 transfer case
Hi-Tech 5646wp Servo
Li Po Tazer 12t ESC
Venom 2s 5000 7.4v LiPo

I run around for about 15 minutes on a full charge and before I know it, the ESC shuts down and starts blinking and the motor is too hot to touch for more than a few seconds. If I turn both the ESC and controller off and back on, it'll start rolling again but only for a few minutes at a time. Through a lot of trial and error, I'm finding that it's happening when the motor is under load but unable to turn, like if I approach an obstacle and have to use light throttle play to crawl...

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I figure that should be normal, right? Getting pushed up against a rock or something and trusting your slow turn motor and metal gear servo to be able to crawl an obstacle. I tried a glitch buster thinking the servo requirements were a bit much...no dice.

Please - someone who knows something more about all this stuff than I do, weigh in. I'm thinking the high torque motor and high torque servo is too much for this ESC but I am reluctant to replace it without knowing something beyond speculation because if I'm going to replace it, I'm replacing it with quality and this rig is nickel and diming me dry as it is and my wife is losing her patience.

Please, discuss.
BeanBump12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links