Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: New to crawling, looking for advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2015, 10:27 AM   #1

Default New to crawling, looking for advice

Hello, this is my first post here.
A little background, I have been into RC for close to 15 years, almost all nitro, with the exception of a couple planes and small helis. I currently own a Savage and a Stampede for off road fun. My father in law recently bought a Yeti XL, which is tons of fun. I had a lot of fun with it seeing what it climb up and over. So, now I am looking for something to run at my campground, just to crawl over some rock walls and run down some trails in the woods.
I have no experience with crawling other than a couple hours with the Yeti XL. I am hesitant to pick up a SCX10 because I am not sure what I could reasonably expect it to crawl over. I do have an old electric Stampede that I could fix up and use, but it is RWD.
I have watched a bunch of youtube vids of the SCX10 and it seems pretty capable, but before I drop $350 on one, I would like to know how it compares in terms of ability to the XL(within reason due to the size difference), which I know is not specifically a crawler.

Thanks
superbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-2015, 10:37 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: New to crawling, looking for advice

The scx us super capable, but slow and scale. The wraith/yeti/twin hammers all have some go. Depends on what you want though, you want to drive a scale truck, like a mini version of a jeep, or want to boogy and crawl with a rock buggy?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
sdmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 11:31 AM   #3
RCC Addict