Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: Esc shutting down!! Please help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2017, 09:35 PM   #1

Question Esc shutting down!! Please help

So I recently purchased a wraith spawn rtr. Running a 2s 5000 20c lipo. Stock everything except I've changed the pinion to a 10t. No problems! I felt it was still too fast for strictly crawling and I got a RC4WD 35t motor and a 2s 5000 30c lipo. On the first run after putting the 35t motor and the 30c lipo, the truck just stopped/froze after about 15 min. No throttle no steering no nothing. I unplugged the battery and noticed the motor was very hot and the esc was quite warm as well. I'm new to crawling and I am not sure why everything got so hot so fast. The esc is the stock AE-5 with drag brake. Is the 35t motor not compatible with the esc? I'm at a loss. Any help will be appreciated
Hosstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-2017, 11:38 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Esc shutting down!! Please help

That's certainly curious, a 35t with a 10/56 pinion/spur should not get hot unless your doing a lot of full throttle or really bound up stuff.
The esc, while a fairly budget basic unit shouldn't have any probs with that motor.

First step would be looking for stuff binding & causing load, I'd drop the drive shafts off & check the axles feel smooth. Obviously if something is tight need to find that, might be a junked bearing.
If axles are good then try turning the trans from the driveshafts, will feel a bit notchy from the motor magents but if thats tight then you need to get in drop off the motor pinion to feel the trans.
If thats good & the motor isn't locked up double check your pinion/spur mesh, if thats in too tight it'll load up the motor.
altd896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 07:38 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by altd896 View Post