Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial XR10

Notices

Thread: Rear motor stall fwd only

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 08:57 PM   #1

Default Rear motor stall fwd only

Howdy!

I am new to the hobby and over the last 6 months have built an XR10.
About 5 weeks ago, I finished soldering all my electrics together and have been running my rig as I have the chance.

Here's a description of my XR:
Stock XR10
Novak Rooster Crawler ESC
Integy 55t lathe (front axle)
Venom 55t (rear axle)
Solar 280oz servo (forget the model number)
GensAce 2S 1300mah
Deans Ultra plugs

My motors are wired to each other. Then, I tapped the ESC wires into one of the sets of motor wires.

I pretty quickly realized that my rear wheels were not turning when I would go forward.

This behavior happens about 99% of the time when going forward climbing and rolling in grass, small rocks, etc...

If I hold the rig in my hand and pull the throttle, both motors turn.
So I know that the connection between the motors and the ESC is delivering power.

If I pull the throttle with the front wheels down on the ground and leave the rear wheels in the air the rear wheels don't turn.
If I put the XR on my wood living room floor and pull the throttle I can watch the front wheels pull the rig across the floor dragging the frozen rear wheels.

I pulled the servo out to make sure it wasn't that. The rear wheels were still not turning.

It never happens going backward. I can do all the same tests as I mentioned above in reverse and this never happens. It climbs like a mo-fo in reverse!

I have searched around for threads regarding clod stall and delayed response. None of those seem to address the fact that it happens in one direction but not the other.

One popular suggestion for fixing clod stall is to step up to a 4PL with two ESCs.
I am going in that direction but not for a while as I don't have the cash for that right now.