Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Why brushless?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2011, 06:06 PM   #1

Default Why brushless?

I'm new to crawlers and need to know why brushless. I have 2 ax10's one brushed and one brushless. The brushed one is faster brushless seams to have a more constant power ( theyre geared the same) and seams to have same run time. I have some money to spend and can't decide if I should go brushless on other truck or leave alone? Also I want to buy lipo charger and batteries I have 7 1500 mah nicad batteries and two good chargers ( from10 years ago or longer) Not sure why but it seems to be what everybody's going lipo and brushless. Any suggestions I'm just trying to catch up to all this technology?
bowtieuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-27-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller

Default Re: Why brushless?

My AX-10 is still brushed because the Velineon (unsensored) in my truggy and the MMM (also unsensored) in my eRavager are a bit notchy at startup/low RPM. My brushed Axial 55 turn can spin some pretty low RPMs and be really smooth at it. I've not had any experience with a sensored brushless yet, so I can't say how smooth they are on startup. Unsensored brushlesses are nice, in that there's no brushes to hang/burn up on ya, no comm to clean or cut, just take 'em apart, clean 'em, and reassemble. Once you get into a sensored brushless you're looking at having to take care of a sensor board (and not all of those are waterproof), which means much like timing an endbell, you'd need to watch how you put it back together. Sensor cables are made up of pretty small wires, and with a modest amount of flex and/or improper sizing/mounting, can break and wreak havok in trying to chase down the problem. But even with all the work brushed motors take in keeping them in top shape, that low RPM smoothness is something crawlers just can't ever get too much of.