Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Soldering gone awry.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 09:09 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Soldering gone awry.

Well I let one of the guys from Hobby Town solder my leads for my new Tekin FXR and 35T motor together since I'm not good with soldering so i would let the experts do it and when I got home, installed the motor and I realised I had sporadic forward throttle but I got reverse and everything else worked, so I have been tinkering with it and realised that the wires for the motor positive terminal was wired to the negative terminal on the ESC and vice versa for the other wire, but the battery terminals are soldered in right. I was wondering would this mess up screw up my ESC?
arctichorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2012, 10:06 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Soldering gone awry.

think it would just make your motor run backwards if it was hooked up wrong (opposite of what you have)

do you have a hot wire for that ESC?? is it programmed?? did you sync it to your radio after you installed it???
squatch71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:15 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by squatch71 View Post
think it would just make your motor run backwards if it was hooked up wrong (opposite of what you have)

do you have a hot wire for that ESC?? is it programmed?? did you sync it to your radio after you installed it???
I tried syncing the ESC to the receiver/radio and it would acknowledge neutral but would not recognize forward throttle at all, the part that is confusing me is that even when I can't get it to sync to the receiver/radio it still works, reverse is reverse, brake is brake, forward is forward when it decides to work.

I even tried a newer receiver and I had the same problem persist.
Old 01-13-2012, 08:35 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave