Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Dual 55t on AE-2 ESC?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 03:44 PM   #1

Default Dual 55t on AE-2 ESC?

I'm a total noob to RCs, but I am learning. Bare with me.

I'm running a Honcho.

I've searched the forum for more info about this, but from what I understand, if I want to run Dual motors on the stock AE-2 ESC, I need to run dual 40T motors or higher since the ESC has a min of 19T, correct? From my understanding, running dual motors they get recognized at half by the ESC so a 40T would be recognized at 20T, a 55T would be 27.5T, etc.

I already have the Level3 dual motor mount. I was thinking of getting some 55T motors.

Can the AE-2 put out enough juice to handle this without burning up?

Also, would I want to set them up Parallel or Serial? Link

I'm on a budget so I can't fork out the cash for an ESC just yet. I'm hoping I can get the dual setup on the cheap. Since I am new to this I don't want to fork out a lot for nice expensive parts when I will probably end up breaking things.

Any help would be much appreciated. Please take it easy on me!
LordZelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-12-2013, 05:34 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Dual 55T on AE-2 ESC?

You should be fine with dual 55T's on that ESC.

Wire them in parallel.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:13 AM   #3

Default Re: Dual 55t on AE-2 ESC?

Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated.
Old 03-13-2013, 09:46 AM   #4
RMK
Quarry Creeper

if you dont mind, i have a question.... why are you wanting to run dual motors? a single 45t of 55t works great in a honcho. your increasing its weight, doubling the torque going through the transmission and cutting your run time.... you have alot higher chance of tearing up your driveshafts and tranny gears with the dual motors. your gonna break more stuff with the twin motors.... Im not trying to lecture, only help....