Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: how to connect new servo to a maisto rock crawler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2014, 02:57 PM   #1

Default how to connect new servo to a maisto rock crawler

Hi there,
I have a couple of maisto rock crawlers which I use to film my rc advenutures for my kids (xmas rc lego adventure). They are great fun especially now with all the snow. We taped them up to make them splash proof and the kids have great fun with them in the snow.

I am modding them now - bought some larger tires (proline interco TSL SX Super Swamper XL 1.9") for them and now I want to add a better servo so it can handle the larger tires. I will go with a smaller sized solar servo like the D657 (Solar Servo D657 0.12@4.8v Mini Digital 25g Metal Gear).

My question to you guys: have you modded the servo on a toy grade rc like this. I am new to this so I am wondering how to connect the servo. Just cut the wires of the stock servo and solder in the solar servo? Or is there something else I need to watch out for? The stock servo is actually a 130 motor and a couple of gears - it's just a left/right servo, i.e. not proportional.

I promise to post pictures of the mod in process!

Thanks!

Gauguin
gauguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2014, 11:55 PM   #2
Rock Crawler